Skip to main content
AMEU | Association of Municipal Electricity Utilities

Partners & Stakeholders

South African Local Government Association is an autonomous association of all 257 South African local governments, comprising of a national association, with one national office and nine provincial offices. Membership of the association is voluntary. SALGA accounts to its members in terms of the SALGA Constitution (as amended in 2016) and it’s Governance Framework regulating its structures and mandating processes.

The Power Institute for East and Southern Africa (PIESA) is a voluntary regional power utility association established on 28 February 1998.  The PIESA aims to improve electrification in East and Southern Africa through sharing information, research, technology, skills and experiences for the benefit of customers and suppliers in the electricity distribution industry.

Founded in 1997, SARPA promotes the exchange of information and finding of solutions in protecting the income and assets of utilities against pilfering, misapplication and misappropriation.  SARPA has branches in Gauteng, Limpopo, KwaZulu Natal, Western Cape, Eastern Cape, the Freestate, Mpumalanga and Namibia.